Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Chocolate Banana Cake

It has been a very, very long time since I last baked a cake. I’d say at least a year. I kind of fell out of love with baking in general, and nothing was inspiring me to get back into it. But as I said recently, I didn’t want this blog (and my paying for the domain name) to go to waste so I’ve been thinking for a while about maybe getting my hands dirty again.

chocolate banana cake

I am on a pretty strict diet at the moment so I was trying to find something at least vaguely healthy to bake. This gorgeous Banana Chocolate Cake uses applesauce instead of butter, and there’s 3 bananas in there too but lets face it, this is still a slice of lovely chocolatey indulgence. It’s super easy to make and was a great way to ease myself back into the baking-groove.

chocolate banana cake

One thing to note, I used a loaf tin but I would recommend using an 8×8 tin which would allow for better and more even cooking.

chocolate banana cake

Recipe

Banana Chocolate Cake

  • 3 medium ripe bananas
  • ¾ cup light brown sugar
  • ½ cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten.
  • 1 cup plain flour
  • ½ cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp bicarb of soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips
  • more chocolate chips for topping – optional
    1. Preheat the oven to 170ºC and grease the cake tin.
    2. Combine the mashed bananas and sugar into a large mixing bowl and stir well.
    3. Add the applesauce, vanilla and egg. Stir to combine.
    4. Stir in the flour, cocoa powder, bicarb, and salt. Add the chocolate chips and pour into the prepared baking tin.
    5. Sprinkle chocolate chips over the top and bake for 25 minutes. (In the loaf tin mine took approx 40 minutes)
3 comments on “Chocolate Banana Cake

  1. Enjoy by Paula
    June 1, 2015

    looks amazing! ❤ please visit my blog 🙂 🙂 http://enjoybypaula.wordpress.com ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. kristenskitchencreations
    June 2, 2015

    Sounds amazing! I love chocolate and banana together 😉

  3. Kathy Freeman
    June 2, 2015

    yum!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2015 by in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 163 other followers

Archive

