Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Washi Tape Paper Aeroplanes

I live in a typical magnolia-clad renters house. Every wall the same boring beige colour that I am not allowed to paint. Which means I need to find alternative, and non-permanent ways to decorate. One of the ways I recently did this was after discovering that washi tape is safe to use on painted walls.

washi tape wall decoration

Washi tape paper aeroplanes! By comparison to the opposite corner of the room, which has a large tall bookcase, I always thought this area of the room looked empty and never knew what to do about it. There was tons of wonderful inspiration for how to use the washi tape to decorate, but I loved this idea of a few cute paper aeroplanes and they were so simple to achieve (I have a much bigger and more complicated idea planned for my bedroom).

washi tape wall decoration

I first drew out the two designs of plane I wanted, and then copied them onto tracing paper which allowed me to transfer the outlines to the wall. I then needed to cut strips of washi tape length-ways as I wanted a narrower outline. All then that was left to do was to follow the outline and get sticking. I’d say it took no more than a couple of hours from start to finish and I love how it’s turned out.

One comment on “Washi Tape Paper Aeroplanes

  1. jumpyjess
    March 6, 2015

    Love this idea! So cute and simple! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

