Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Cheap & Cheerful DIY Fabric Covered Cork Board

I have seen many variations of fabric covered cork boards floating around on the internet, and mostly they are all beautiful and perfect and use gorgeous vintage fabrics.

fabric cork board

I didn’t really care about any of that.

I just wanted something to hang on my bedroom wall that I could hang jewellery on and stick up posters. ย I could have used the plain board, but lets face it brown cork boards are not very pleasing on the eye. So for my cheap and cheerful solution I grabbed the only bit of colourful fabric I had lying around, a bed sheet. Why not?!
(I should add at this point that I do not own an iron! So the sheet is pretty creased but to be perfectly honest I don’t think it makes any difference in the end!)

fabric cork board

The majority of internet examples seem to use hot glue for securing the fabric, but I hate using my glue gun at the best of times so I wasn’t going to attempt that. My cheap and cheerful solution – pins! They hold the fabric in place and make a nice little border. To secure the back side – duct tape! Not a very aesthetically pleasing solution but it’s the back so who cares!

fabric cork board

All in all I’d say this took me no more than an hour to make and it has added a wonderful splash of colour to my bedroom wall.

fabric cork board

Did I master the “It looks like I’ve just thrown these items together but really it took me almost an hour to arrange them” effect?

4 comments on “Cheap & Cheerful DIY Fabric Covered Cork Board

  1. Made In Mauve
    July 15, 2014

    Such a simple and great idea! Definitely better than the plain cork boards. I’ll have to try it one day.

    http://www.madeinmauve.com

    • throughthemagicdoor
      July 17, 2014

      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚
      Good luck if you do spruce up your cork board in the future, not that you’ll need it because this was so simple! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. shohpie
    July 16, 2014

    This is great and totally the way I would end up doing it too! I love the pins and I could imagine using black headed ones if I ever made one. I’m definitely converting my newly aquired cork board when it comes out of storage!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

