Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

White Chocolate Tart FAIL

With the recent death of the Exeter Baking Club I have been trying to sort through all of the equipment and the tons of sprinkles we had acquired over the years. What exactly is a girl meant to do with a dozen rolling pins?! I was happy to see the EBC aprons (handmade by my mum) all go to new loving homes but I didn’t want to needlessly hang on to the rest. I don’t do well to dwell in the past, or particularly like thinking of the future so there seemed no reason to have this overflowing box of Baking Club stuff in my house just to remind me of what once was.

One of the things I did find whilst going through the box was several blocks of baking white chocolate, which was bought to make cake-pops. The use-by-date was still good so it seemed a waste to just throw it out and so I decided I would use it and make a white chocolate version of the Salted Chocolate Tart, minus the salt obviously!

Unfortunately things did not at all turn out how I had envisioned. The ganache filling did not set, not even after a night in the fridge. It was a real shame because it tasted delicious! I imagine it is something to do with the difference between white and dark chocolate and that you can’t just swap one for the other within the same recipe. Well, a valuable lesson learnt.

mmm, appetising....

mmm, appetising….

As I was attempting to make the tart I realised I would have some filling left over once the pastry case was full and so I ended up pouring the remainder over a sponge I had lying around. It proceeded to be completely absorbed. Again, not exactly what I thought would happen. Disaster? Actually, no! After a night in the fridge I sampled a piece and it tasted yummy! Served with some fresh strawberries it was delicious and I was just happy to have ended up with something edible from a series of baking nightmares.

white chocolate sponge

5 comments on “White Chocolate Tart FAIL

  1. fallfromgrace349
    June 17, 2014

    disaster or not, it looks very yummy still! 🙂

  2. sophiebowns
    June 17, 2014

    It still looks good!

  3. fallfromgrace349
    June 23, 2014

    Just letting you know that Ive nominated you for the Liebster award, there are full details on my post 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2014 by in Baking, Other Food and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

