Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Cake Pops

Last year I used a BBC Good Food recipe to make Reindeer Cake Pops for Christmas, and I’ve been making them using that recipe ever since.

Then recently someone asked me about making cake pops and I pointed them in the direction of that original recipe, but it made me realise that I have been slightly changing and refining the recipe and technique each time I make them so I thought I would post about how I like to make them now (with lots of pictures too).

Recipe

200g madeira cake
200g white chocolate
200g dark chocolate (or good quality cake covering chocolate)
Sprinkles
Lollipop sticks

– Cut the cake into chunks and use a fork to mash it into crumbs
P1000522
– Melt the white chocolate and add 3/4 of it to the cake crumbs. Mix well. Depending on the moistness of your cake you may need to add it all in order to bring the crumbs together.
P1000523
– Roll the cake dough into balls just smaller than a golf ball in size. Squish the dough together in your fingers to ensure the ball doesn’t have any cracks before rolling in the palm of your hand to form the ball shape
P1000526
– Dip the end of a lollipop stick into any remaining melted white chocolate and then stick it into a cake ball. Place on a tray in the fridge to set for about half an hour
P1000527
– Melt the dark chocolate and dip in a cake pop to cover it entirely. Twist the stick around in circles between your finger and thumb fairly quickly to remove any excess chocolate
P1000529
– Add sprinkles
P1000530
– Stick the cake pop into a stand (I use oasis covered in a napkin) to allow it to set
P1000532
– Done!
P1000535

3 comments on “Cake Pops

  1. Ev
    July 22, 2013

    They look great! I have yet to get round to making cake pops myself – will have to try to do it some time.

  2. mydearbakes
    July 22, 2013

    This is so marvelous! I’m falling in love with your bake! =D

  3. Pingback: Christmas Reindeer Cake Pops | Through The Magic Door

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2013 by in Baking and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

