Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

It’s Mosaic Time Again!

Last year I had a lot of fun making a mosaic for The Hub On The Green. I’d never done any mosaicking before that but it came together really nicely and now sits proudly right outside The Hub’s door. So a few days ago when The Hub’s Joey told me she was digging out all the left over ceramics and was planning a couple of new mosaics, I jumped at the chance to join in.

hub on the green mosaic

This morning a few of us started working on the first one, a big ladybird design. It was a lot of fun and I always find it a very relaxing craft…even smashing and stomping on the plates and cups is weirdly therapeutic. We actually managed to get quite a lot done in just a couple of hours, and luckily for us we had the perfect amount of red pieces to fill in the body. The black pieces for the head and spots came from a huge black glass ashtray. The smashing of which inflicted a few minor injuries to my fingers…most of which I didn’t know were there until I just tried eating a bag of salt and vinegar crisps. I’m happy to sacrifice a few fingers tips to the process though.

hub on the green mosaic

Tomorrow we are continuing work on the background of the ladybird and hopefully starting on the second mosaic too.

hub on the green mosaic

2 comments on “It’s Mosaic Time Again!

  1. Lucy
    May 31, 2013

    Hi Lauren, I saw the mosaic today – it’s looking amazing! My aunty and I loved visiting the Hub on the Green 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 28, 2013 by in Crafts, Mosaic and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

