Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Coconut Lamingtons

I have no idea why they are called Lamingtons, but these chocolatey, coconut, morsels are delicious.

I decided to try the recipe (from the book Cakes, 100 Everyday Recipes) simply because I wanted to try something new and I happened to have all of the ingredients already in the cupboard. I love it when that happens.

coconut lamingtons

Recipe

175g plain flour
1 tbsp baking powder
175g unsalted butter
175g caster sugar
3 eggs, beaten
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp milk
2 tbsp desiccated coconut

For the icing and coating:
500g icing sugar
40g cocoa powder
85ml boiling water
70g unsalted butter, melted
250g desiccated coconut

  • Preheat the oven to 180C and grease a 9inch square tin
  • Sift the flour and baking powder into a large bowl and add the butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla. Beat well until the mixture is smooth, then stir in the milk and coconut
  • Spoon the mixture into the prepared tin and smooth the surface with a palette knife. Bake in the preheated oven for 30-35 minutes, or until risen, firm, and golden brown
  • Leave to cool in the tin for 10 minutes, then turn out and finish cooling on a wire rack. When the cake is cold, cut into 16 squares with a sharp knife
  • For the icing, sift the icing sugar and cocoa into a bowl. Add the water and melted butter and stir until smooth. Spread out the coconut on a large plate. Dip each piece of sponge cake into the icing, holding with two forks to coat evenly, then toss in the coconut to cover. Place on a sheet of baking paper to leave and set

coconut lamingtons

6 comments on “Coconut Lamingtons

  1. Sam
    April 29, 2013

    These were my favourite when I was little, such an Australian thing!

    • throughthemagicdoor
      April 29, 2013

      Australian, really? I had no idea!

      • Sam
        April 29, 2013

        Yes! The most Australian cake there is. We make them on Australia day and kids birthday parties.

  2. Gigi
    April 29, 2013

    I’d say it’s a New Zealand thing too. They’re still my favourite 😉

  3. fionaward
    April 29, 2013

    I love coconut with chocolate. I don’t often see recipes for Lamingtons, so thank you!

  4. Laila
    April 29, 2013

    Lamington is one of my all-time addictions. The antipodeans I used to work with used to bring these beauties in every birthday for the office to share. I could easily put a few stone on a day with them! I never looked up the recipe before but now I shall put even my undomesticated culinary hand to a baking attempt 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 29, 2013 by in Baking and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

