Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Crafty Geek

For a while now I have been looking for a new craft to get my teeth stuck in to. I am still enjoying a bit of occasional paper quilling but it’s nice to have variety.

I don’t know what made me choose cross stitch but as soon as I tried it I knew I was hooked. It’s simple, you don’t need lots of experience or materials, and you don’t have to follow complicated patterns (if you don’t want to).

The first thing I cross stitched was some simple wording…a quote from one of my favourite tv shows, Firefly (“We have done the impossible, and that makes us mighty”). I just wanted something easy to copy out and to be able to get the feel for the best way to work. I was fairly happy with how it turned out and I learnt a lot whilst working on it.

I soon found myself doing the usual thing of browsing Pinterest and that is when I discovered you can buy cross stitch covers for your phone! Excellent. I ordered one straight away.

So whilst I was waiting for that to arrive I wanted to get started on another project. That is when I decided to use cross stitch to satisfy my inner geek and create something X-Files themed. I found a photo to work from and drew out the pattern onto graph paper.

x files cross stitch

I worked on 14 count aida (perfect for beginners, I think) and used DMC colours 310, 839, 928, 720, 469, 945, and the dark grey was Anchor 236.

I can’t say how many hours it took to complete, but I took it on holiday with me for a week and did a little each day, and I managed to get it finished on my train journey home (normally I have nothing but bad things to say about how bright they keep train carriages at night but on this occasion I was grateful). I am incredibly happy with the finished product and so glad I did it. I love the aspect of taking a traditional craft and using it to create something modern and a little bit nerdy.

x files cross stitch

That is why I was excited when my phone case finally arrived and I got to stitch whatever I wanted onto it! I chose a Super Mario 1up design using a slight in-joke about my love/hate relationship with my phone. I have a small chuckle to myself every time I see it.

cross stitch iphone case

In summary, I have a new craft addiction. And everyone I know should start preparing themselves to receive random cross stitch Christmas presents this year. I have plenty in mind!

4 comments on “Crafty Geek

  1. Vilma Byström
    April 15, 2013

    I love the phone case!!! Bought one of my one don’t know what to put on it! Brilliant! X

    • throughthemagicdoor
      April 15, 2013

      Thank you 🙂 It took me a few weeks to settle on that design and even now my mind is thinking of what to put on it next!

  2. Vilma Byström
    April 15, 2013

    Ment one of my own!

  3. love it, but you make it sound so easy, it looks so hard! i need something to purge my creative streak at mo, this looks just the tonic. super mario makes me nostalgic 🙂 maybe i could do something for james… Lai x

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

