Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Spicy Roasted Chickpeas

I love chickpeas. I use them in so many dishes, but I always cook them in the same way. Until I recently discovered that you can roast them! Revelation. Roasting them turns chickpeas into a crunchy, irresistible, endlessly moreish, snack.

spicy roasted chickpeas

It’s ridiculously simple too. Just drain and rinse a can of chickpeas, then pat dry and pop into a bowl. Drizzle over 1-2tsp olive oil, sprinkle a few tsps of spices over the top, and then mix well. You can pretty much use whatever spices you have in the cupboard for this (or even try them with brown sugar and cinnamon) but I used paprika, black pepper, mustard powder, and a pinch of salt. Once the chickpeas are completely coated, spread them out onto a baking tray and cook in the oven for approx 20 minutes at 200°C. I cannot stress enough however to just be careful about the oven time. Keep your eye on them! The first time I tried to make them I burnt them to a crisp. I also find that the chickpeas on the edge of my baking tray crisp up much quicker than the ones in the centre so I give them a mix around a few times during the cooking. It’s difficult to tell visually when the chickpeas are cooked to perfection so I just keep sampling the odd one until they reach the desired crunch. Served hot or cold, these are delicious.

spicy roasted chickpeas

One comment on “Spicy Roasted Chickpeas

  1. Joe
    April 5, 2013

    Hi,
    I´ve got an aged giant tin of chickpeas in the cupboard; now its days are numbered.
    Came to this blog from youtube Historic Vehicle Gathering: Recommended.
    Joe

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2013 by in Other Food and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

