Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Cinnamon Cupcakes

cinnamon cupcakes

As is becoming all too frequent on this blog, this post is another “I couldn’t sleep, so this happened…” story.

It was 4am, I had been wide awake all night and was getting very bored with lying in bed, especially as my phone had died and I couldn’t even play games to pass the time. So it got to the point where I frustratingly decided to just get up.

Obviously, it is absolutely freezing at 4 o’clock in the morning, even if you are wearing a big fluffy dressing gown, and my central heating is no miracle worker so I wanted some way of keeping myself warm…..”it gets nice and warm in the kitchen if the oven is on, maybe I should bake something”, I thought to myself.

So here we are – Cinnamon Cupcakes, also known as Snickerdoodle Cupcakes apparently. I didn’t have a clue what that was until I googled it.

Because I was mostly making this up as I went along and wasn’t following any particular recipe, I used my trusty Classic Cupcake recipe with a big teaspoon of cinnamon added to it to make the sponge. I had no idea if that would be too much/not enough cinnamon but it worked out fine (I only made 5 cupcakes so for a normal sized batch I would add more than 1tsp cinnamon). The buttercream is a basic vanilla buttercream which I then sprinkled some cinnamon sugar over once I had piped it onto the cupcakes.

A very simple but very delicious cupcake.

cinnamon cupcakes

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

