Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Brownie Peanut Butter Cups

I have not done any “just for the sake of it” baking for a very long time, which I think is a shame. I used to bake all the time, trying any recipe that caught my fancy. But lately I only seem to bother when the time for Exeter Baking Club comes along.

I lay in bed thinking about this this morning when I woke up at a ridiculous hour and couldn’t get back to sleep. In the end I decided to just get up, raid the kitchen cupboards, and bake something. Anything.

brownie peanut butter cups

That ‘anything’ turned out to be Brownie Peanut Butter Cups (an idea I came across on Pinterest, surprise surprise). The recipe is so simple – whip up a batch of your favourite brownie mix and then divide the batter evenly into a greased muffin tray, bake for approx 15 minutes and leave in the tin to cool. Put a few spoonfuls of smooth peanut butter into a microwave proof bowl and heat on full power for approx 40 seconds. Drop a teaspoonful of the runny PB on top of each brownie and then sprinkle with a few chocolate chips. And you’re done!

Admittedly they are a bit of a pain to get out of the tin, and a couple of mine fell apart a little bit but I’m sure if you’re just a bit more careful than I was it will be fine.

I don’t actually like peanut butter so my final product was handed out to friends, who seem to have thoroughly enjoyed them.

A morning well spent, I think.

brownie peanut butter cups

2 comments on “Brownie Peanut Butter Cups

  1. Brittany
    February 12, 2013

    Ohh that pb on top just dripping down looks amazing.

    • throughthemagicdoor
      February 12, 2013

      Warming the PB up a little gave it a lovely runny quality perfect for a good drizzle!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

