Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Paper Quilling

For those who follow Through The Magic Door on Facebook, you will remember that a couple of weeks ago I mentioned how I had come across something called “paper quilling”, I didn’t really know what it was but I wanted to give it a go. The next day I found myself a paper quilling set, opened it up and stared blankly into the box for several minutes. What was I meant to do with this stuff? Well, that is when a wonderful thing called the internet came in handy. I watched many a YouTube tutorial and scoured Pinterest for inspiration.

I rapidly discovered that the art of paper quilling seemed to require a fairly steady hand and a whole lot of patience, two things that would normally prevent me from touching said craft with a 10ft barge-pole. But on this occasion I decided I might as well at least attempt something seeing as I had already bought the kit and was feeling ever so slightly jealous of the beautiful finished products I had witnessed on Pinterest. I could make something like that, right?

Well, not exactly.

I decided to make a TTMD logo. I thought they were pretty simple letter shapes for me to begin with. I was soon to discover however that things are only as simple as you make them, and I didn’t do myself any favours with the font I chose. A bit too curvy for my very first time, I think. Shaping and gluing down the outline took a very, very long time and many a frustrated word was spoken. I got there though, and thought it looked at least half decent in the end.

paper quilling

I didn’t really have any particular designs in mind for what I was going to do next so I just winged it as I went along trying different things and techniques. This is why I think the last letter is my favourite, because I had a clearer idea of what I was doing by then and it came together much easier.

paper quilling

I managed to finish the whole thing over a couple of evenings. Actually, it was 5 films worth of work (I watched Seven Brides For Seven Brothers, Ted, and the Austin Powers trilogy in the background).

I ended up enjoying it much more than I thought I would and am really glad I stuck with it. My paper quilling days are just beginning.

paper quilling
paper quilling

One comment on “Paper Quilling

  1. eclecticlamb
    February 4, 2013

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2013 by in Crafts, Paper Craft and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

