Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Richey Edwards Sketch

The 1st February is coming up, and as a Manic Street Preachers fan this date is etched in my memory. It is the day band member Richey Edwards disappeared. 18 years ago. But I’m not going to go into that whole thing now.

So as Richey has been on my mind lately (more than he usually is) I decided I’d have a whirl at drawing him. I’ve tried before and always failed miserably, but after looking back on the Gillian Anderson and David Sylvian sketches that I did a few months ago, I thought why not have another go.

The process didn’t start out all that well, I had a hard time settling on an image and the first few I tried didn’t work out well. But I had nothing better to do and so sat and looked through photo after photo of him (not a bad way to spend an afternoon, it has to be said) until I picked out one of my favourites and decided to go with that.

It’s a bit of a messy sketch (done with an annoyingly blunt pencil) but it’s the best I’ve managed to get and overall I don’t think I can be too displeased with it. (The original photo can be seen here)

richey edwards sketch

2 comments on “Richey Edwards Sketch

  1. Boudicca
    January 23, 2013

    What a lovely image to pop into my inbox – thank you! I really like this photo and you’d done it justice.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 23, 2013 by in Drawing/Painting and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

