Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Christmas Reindeer Cake Pops

reindeer cake pops

Today was the last Exeter Baking Club meeting of the year and our theme was Christmas.

I really struggled in the run up trying to think of what to bake and I spent hours browsing Pinterest for inspiration, but I finally found it in the form of Reindeer Cake Pops!

I had never made cake pops before so I was looking forward to the challenge. And what a challenge it turned out to be. It took me 4 hours to make them. And I completely destroyed my kitchen in the process. It was worth it though. I am pretty thrilled with the final product.

reindeer cake pops

The recipe I used for the cake pops themselves came from the BBC Good Food website and uses white chocolate to combine the cake crumbs. I loved that in combination with the dark chocolate coating. The reindeer were meant to have little eyes dotted on too but my shaky hands weren’t quite up to the task so I didn’t risk it. They’re still little cuties though, right?

reindeer cake pops

UPDATE (December 2013): Since writing this post I have made cake pops many, many more times and have refined the original recipe (listed above) and technique. You can read about how I now make cake pops in this blog post.

2 comments on “Christmas Reindeer Cake Pops

  1. Pingback: Christmas Baking « Through The Magic Door

  2. Pingback: Cake Pops | Through The Magic Door

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

