Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

How To Test A New Oven

I recently moved house and today I thought it was about time I did my first bit of baking and to test out the new oven.

Up until now I haven’t had to use it. Thanks to a lovely little helper I didn’t have to worry about baking the required cupcakes for the last Exeter Baking Club gathering (my kitchen was still in disarray at that point) and I got away with just making the gingerbread dough.

But you can’t put these things off forever.

This new oven is a fan oven. My previous one was not. I feared what this would mean for all of my trusty recipes.

I thought about what to try out first and decided to go with bread. Who doesn’t love the smell of bread wafting through a new house? And I figured it would be more forgiving than cake if I accidentally overcooked it.

I chose a delicious bread that I have made several times before (but for some reason seem to have not featured on here), Lorraine Pascale’s Cheese and Chive Bread.

I love it because it’s so simple and quick. And the mustard and paprika really add something extra to the flavour. A big thick slice lightly toasted and served with lots of butter is just heavenly.

And the new oven performed admirably. I will have to watch my timings and temperatures as I bake more things over the coming weeks, but I think we’re going to get along just fine.

Recipe

425g self raising flour
1tsp baking powder
1tsp mustard powder
1tsp paprika
1/2tsp salt
1/2tsp pepper
160g mature chedder, grated
1/2 bunch chives, finely chopped
200 – 250ml water

  • Preheat the oven to 200°C and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper
  • Mix all of the ingredients, apart from the water, together in a bowl
  • Add most of the water to the dry ingredients and bring together to make a soft dough, adding more water if necessary.
  • Shape the dough into a ball and place on the baking tray. Slash a cross into the top using a sharp knife.
  • Bake for approx 35 minutes, until dark golden brown.

One comment on “How To Test A New Oven

  1. trixfred30
    November 5, 2012

    We got a new oven recently which is a fan job. We’ve worked out you need to drop the temp about 20 degrees (doesnt make it any easier to clean though!)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

