Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Sweet Treat Sunday – Marshmallow Cupcakes

I have been meaning to make these cupcakes for a while now, but apart from what I make for Exeter Baking Club, I haven’t actually done any other baking at all. I only realised this a couple of days ago and was disappointed with myself. I also cannot even remember the last time there was a Sweet Treat Sunday featured on Through The Magic Door!

Well, this weekend I have been a little poorly and unable to go out. So what better to fill my time than to bake! I spied an unopened bag of marshmallows at the back of the cupboard and I remembered what they were there for. Marshmallow Cupcakes!

The recipe I used for these cupcakes is from The Hummingbird Bakery but in all honesty I am disappointed with how the sponge has come out. If I ever made these again, or if any of you want to make them, I would go back and use my trusty Classic Cupcake Recipe. It is always perfect and I don’t really know why I strayed. Apart from that element however, I do love them. The gooey marshmallow centre is a delight, and coupled with the chocolate buttercream it is heavenly.

Recipe

  • Make one batch of cupcakes using my Classic Cupcake Recipe (minus the buttercream and jam, obviously) and cut a little hole into the top of each one
  • Melt 200g of marshmallows in a heat proof bowl over a pan of simmering water
  • Place a dollop of melted marshmallow onto the top of each cupcake and leave to cool
  • Whip up a batch of chocolate buttercream (50g butter, 100g icing sugar, 30g cocoa powder, splash of milk) and spoon onto the cupcakes. Decorate with mini marshmallows. Tuck in and enjoy!
5 comments on “Sweet Treat Sunday – Marshmallow Cupcakes

  1. trialsinfood
    August 26, 2012

    Looks good. Too bad the sponge didn’t work out.

    • throughthemagicdoor
      August 26, 2012

      It’s not massively terrible, just not what I was hoping. Still very much edible 🙂

  2. bakedbyiris
    August 26, 2012

    I am also disappointed with Hummingbird’s sponge recipe. must give your ultimate recipe a go, but I always stick with Magnolia’s Bakery sponge recipe. So good!

  3. daisy
    August 27, 2012

    Very pretty cupcakes!

    daisy

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 26, 2012 by in Baking, Sweet Treat Sunday and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

