Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

PB & J Cupcakes

This morning I woke up with the intention of spending my day baking Marshmallow Cupcakes, but whilst having breakfast something made my mind wander to other cupcake flavours I am yet to try. And for a reason unbeknownst to me, I thought of peanut butter and jam. I have never even tried the combination before, let alone tried it as a cupcake flavour. I don’t even like peanut butter (I like peanuts, but not peanut butter). But as I thought more about it, it started sounding more and more like a delicious idea. The marshmallow cupcakes would have to wait, I needed to see this through.

Of course there are hundreds of PB&J Cupcake recipes out there on the internet but I didn’t feel confident about any of them. So I decided the best thing to do was to figure it out for myself. And that’s what I did. I used my favourite standard vanilla cupcake recipe and adapted it. The result was a revelation! Even The OH, who thinks that any use of a peanut other than to be dry roasted or salted is abhorrent, said they were delicious!

The following recipe makes 4 large cupcakes but can easily be multiplied to make as many as you want.

Recipe

1 egg
Golden caster sugar
Unsalted butter
Self raising flour
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
1 heaped tbsp smooth peanut butter
Raspberry or strawberry jam

For the buttercream –

100g icing sugar
40g unsalted butter
20g smooth peanut butter
1/2tsp vanilla essence

  • Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a muffin tray with 4 large paper cases
  • Weigh the egg in its shell
  • Place in a bowl an amount of butter equal to the weight of the egg (so for example, if your egg weighs 60g, add 60g of butter). Add to the butter an amount of sugar also equal to the weight of the egg. Cream together until light and smooth, then beat in the peanut butter until fully combined
  • Add the egg and mix well
  • Sieve in self-raising flour equal to the weight of your egg and fold in gently until fully combined. Stir in the vanilla.
  • Divide equally between the paper cases and bake for 15-18 minutes until a light golden brown
  • Place on a wire rack to cool as soon as they come out of the oven
  • When fully cooled, cut a hole into the top of each cupcake about 2cm deep and fill with the jam of your choice
  • To make the buttercream, simply beat together the butter and peanut butter then add the icing sugar and vanilla and continue mixing until smooth. Spread on the top of each cupcake and decorate with chocolate chips.

6 comments on “PB & J Cupcakes

  1. Simply Tia
    March 7, 2012

    These look amazingly delicious!!!

  2. beti
    March 7, 2012

    they look amazing, I’m glad you changed your mind and decided to make them with peanut buter

  3. whilehewasout
    March 8, 2012

    very pretty!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

