Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Ginger Cupcakes

Sometimes I get an overwhelming urge to just walk into the kitchen and bake something right there and then. And a few days ago, whilst I was sat having my breakfast, the urge hit me. I rifled through the cupboards and discovered I didn’t have many ingredients at my disposal but that I could throw together some cupcakes. Then I saw a little jar of ground ginger sitting there and thought “why not?”. The Other Half approved of the idea and so the Ginger Cupcake was born. The sponge packs a nice kick of the ginger which goes wonderfully with the smooth buttercream and The Other Half said they tasted exactly like gingernut biscuits. For something I just threw together in 10 minutes I am very pleased with these little beauties.

Recipe (makes approx 6 large cupcakes but can easily be doubled to make more)

1 egg
Unsalted butter
Light brown sugar
Self raising flour
2 tsps ground ginger

For the buttercream –

50g unsalted butter
100g icing sugar
1/2 tsp ground ginger

  • Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a muffin tray with 6 paper cases
  • Weigh your egg in its shell (it should be about 60g)
  • Place in a bowl an amount of butter equal to the weight of the egg (so for example, if your egg weighs 60g, add 60g of butter). Add to the butter an amount of sugar also equal to the weight of the egg. Cream together until light and smooth
  • Add the egg and mix well
  • Sieve in self-raising flour equal to the weight of your egg and fold in gently until fully combined. Stir in the 2 tsps of ground ginger
  • Divide between the paper cases and bake for approx 15 – 18 mins until light golden brown
  • Remove from the tray and leave to cool on a wire rack
  • When it’s time to make the buttercream, simply beat together the butter, icing sugar and ginger until smooth.

5 comments on “Ginger Cupcakes

  1. ediblesubstance
    November 24, 2011

    Gorgeous!

    • sylviangirl
      November 25, 2011

      Thank you 🙂 And I love your blog btw, so much loveliness and I am definitely going to try your muffin recipe!

  2. frugalfeeding
    November 24, 2011

    ginger and baking go together so well. Great recipe!

    • sylviangirl
      November 25, 2011

      Thank you 🙂 I am glad I have finally come to love the combination.

  3. Pingback: Ginger Cupcakes | My Guilty Desires

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 24, 2011 by in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

