Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Halloween Scream Cookies

Last year I failed to make any Halloween themed baked goods at all, and I was very disappointed with myself. The same thing was not going to happen this year. As soon as I flipped my calendar over to October at the beginning of the month, I started to think about what I could do.

I first thought of simply baking one big cake, dying the sponge bright red and decorating it with some black fondant icing and piping on some white ghostly decoration. I felt slightly apprehensive about this though as me and fondant icing don’t ever seem to be able to work well together.

My second idea was cookies. You can cut them to whatever shape you want, they would be easy to decorate and I actually hadn’t attempted to decorate cookies before so it would be something new to try. I started to think about the most famous horror films and any imagery attached to them. One of the first ones to pop into my head was Scream and the iconic Ghostface mask. That would make a good Halloween cookie, plus it is an easy shape with only 2 colours. Handy for my first go at anything like this. The decision had been made.

To make the template for the cookies, I simply cut out the ghostface outline from a piece of thin plastic. Then when the cookie dough gets rolled out, you simply trace around the edge of the template with a sharp knife.

The black and white icing is the most basic of basic things – just icing sugar and water. Of course royal icing or buttercream would work too. As this was my first go at piping a design I struggled a bit to begin with. My technique improved slightly after a while but I can see that this skill needs real time spent on it.

Overall, I am pretty pleased with how the cookies have turned out. I would have liked them to be a bit neater but for my first attempt I think I can live with it.

5 comments on “Halloween Scream Cookies

  1. Jules Young (@muddleduck)
    October 31, 2011

    They look amazing!! 🙂

  2. Boudicca
    October 2, 2012

    Love them!

  3. Pingback: Halloween Cupcakes « Through The Magic Door

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2011 by in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

