Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

National Cupcake Week I Hear You Say!

On Monday, through the medium of social network sites, I discovered it was National Cupcake Week! I’d never heard of such a thing before but obviously became immediately enthused. I felt like my baking had been somewhat absent lately and I needed to get back to it, and this was to be the perfect opportunity.

Cupcakes are probably my favourite thing to bake but sadly I dont get to make them all that often, so I wasnt going to let this chance slip by. I asked The Other Half if there was any particular flavour that he fancied and he said something lemmony. So hey presto, I now present to you Lemon And Poppy Seed Cupcakes!

They are delightful, if I may say so myself and I am not normally a fan of lemon flavoured things. I had planned on using some lemon icing to top them with but it wasnt very nice when I mixed it up so it went straight into the bin. The cupcakes do work on their own but a slither of lemon buttercream will probably go on mine next time I whip up a batch.

Recipe

225g self raising flour
175g golden caster sugar
Zest of 2 lemons
1 tbsp poppy seeds
3 eggs
100g natural yoghurt
175g melted butter, slightly cooled

  • Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a muffin tray with 12 paper cases.
  • Mix the flour, sugar, lemon zest and poppy seeds together in a bowl.
  • In a seperate bowl beat the eggs into the yoghurt and then tip into the dry ingredients, with the melted butter also.
  • Mix thoroughly together until smooth and then divide between the paper cases.
  • Bake for approx 20 minutes and then leave to cool on a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

