Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Historic Vehicle Gathering, Powderham Castle

On Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th of July, the grounds of Powderham Castle were invaded by hordes of people and cars. Two of those people were The Other Half and I, and the cars were of the classic variety.

The Historic Vehicle Gathering attracts hundreds upon hundreds of visitors each year and is one of the biggest and most popular in the south-west.

Due to the lack of our own car, The Other Half and I arrived by public transport, which is not quite as glamorous as arriving by E-Type as some people did but practical nonetheless. After a few navigational issues caused by a lack of signage for those unlucky enough to arrive on foot, and after a slice of luck spying a man walking with what looked like a programme for the event, we finally found our way and were rewarded with the welcoming aroma of hotdogs and steam engines.

We were first struck by the sheer scale of the site and had trouble deciding in which direction to head first. We plumped eventually for a section of individually entered cars and The Other Half soon became somewhat infatuated with a pale yellow MG.

After wandering and dreaming for a little while longer, we heard a loud commotion and went to check it out. That is when we first set eyes upon the various traction engines out and about and I was surprised by how big they are! And how powerful!

A spot of lunch later and it was time to hit the various car club displays. The Other Half quickly became infatuated once again (with a Jensen Interceptor this time and really, who can blame him) and I wandered and discovered so many beautiful models I’d never even heard of before.

We walked around the craft stalls, grabbed an ice cream, watched the old fire engine display in the main arena and generally became jealous of everything we set eyes on. The weather treated us, the rain held off and a fabulous day was had all round. Here is a small video montage I put together –

We have since learnt of another classic car event to be held on Paignton sea front in a couple of weeks time that has now been added to our calendar!

40 comments on “Historic Vehicle Gathering, Powderham Castle

  1. wylin.rui
    July 11, 2011

    year,first time

  2. wylin.rui
    July 11, 2011

    It’s cool~

  3. tupameprdijo
    July 11, 2011

    Nice & cool…..!!

  4. boomblastic
    July 11, 2011

    cooooooolll really

  5. ournote2self
    July 11, 2011

    Looks like fun! Especially the part about eating ice cream. 😉

    • sylviangirl
      July 11, 2011

      It was definitely one of the days high points!

  6. They just don’t make ’em like they used to. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  7. wadingacross
    July 11, 2011

    Oh, to have been there! I would surely have been drooling. I am an Anglo-auto-phile, in no small part due to my father’s love of cars – especially classic British ones.

    He currently has a Morris Minor and an MG Midget sitting in his garage in various need of restoration. And, it has long been a dream of mine to own an MGB, though as of late I wouldn’t mind having an old Morris Mini (Cooper) or Morris Minor Woody Wagon.

    Your first photo is of an MGB GT. I owned one briefly, but had not the time, place or money to do the extensive repairs needed to make it road-worthy.

    I think the other cars you have a picture of prior to the classic Minis are Morris Minors, but I could be wrong.

  8. Calogero Mira
    July 11, 2011

    Thanks for the video and… I do not like these cars very much. But they are not bad, anyway. http://calogeromiratraveland.wordpress.com

  9. be awake
    July 11, 2011

    really cool post. thank you! old cars has a special character.

  10. car 9000
    July 11, 2011

    very interesting, I like old cars

  11. karen8095
    July 11, 2011

    What a wonderful very interesting post. My husband and his father (aged 82) are looking forward to this weekend as they are away to the Masham Traction Engine Rally, they go every year. Also to Hunton and a few local classic car events throughout the summer. They always have a fantastic time. Enjoy your next event and I look forward to reading about it. Thank you for sharing

    • sylviangirl
      July 11, 2011

      This is the first time I had ever been to a classic car event but now my summer is going to be packed full of them!

  12. Eva McCane
    July 11, 2011

    i would love a classic car. way cool. unfortunately, my bank account isn’t down for that purchase. plus my inability to care for a car well isn’t condusive to a classic i suppose.

  13. stormskyblue
    July 11, 2011

    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed! I liked the video and seeing the vehicles moving. I’m guessing this is somewhere in England, yes?

  14. My Camera, My Friend
    July 12, 2011

    Looks like a great outing. I just love old cars.

  15. longeyesamurai
    July 12, 2011

    Very nice!

  16. Auspicious Wedding Dates
    July 12, 2011

    This reminds me of the open theaters back in the days!

  17. inmaterial
    July 12, 2011

    Nice video, great choice of a song for it too

  18. bentiu
    July 12, 2011

    love em’ classic cars =)

  19. mkeeffer
    July 12, 2011

    Love this – especially the old Minis…faboo. Just wish they didn’t require a private engineer!

  20. AppAndrew
    July 12, 2011

    This is a very informative post!!! I will definitely look out for classic car events near me. I hope you continue to have fun at these events! If you feel led, check out my blog at http://appandrew.wordpress.com.

  21. richannkur
    July 12, 2011

    nice

  22. Pingback: Historic Vehicle Gathering Photos « Through The Magic Door

  23. abhidworx
    July 12, 2011

    loved watching those vintage cars.

  24. Vasare
    July 12, 2011

    love these old vintage cars

    http://vasare.wordpress.com/

  25. gaycarboys
    July 12, 2011

    I DO love a Morry:)

  26. Thanks for sharing. Is very good and very interesting.

  27. Pingback: Historic Vehicle Gathering, Powderham Castle « eclicksbd

  28. จัดสัมนา
    July 13, 2011

    Thank you for sharing content.

  29. maseadi
    July 14, 2011

    Wow.. Classic

  30. cevon
    July 20, 2011

    Thank you for a great post.

  31. Steve
    July 26, 2011

    I love classic cars! Beautiful…

  32. Karen
    July 28, 2011

    I just did a post about a classic car show today. Different cars but the same great fun. Delhaye, Dusenburg, Packards, etc. Love car shows…would love to go to some the next time we visit Europe.

  33. shohpie
    July 30, 2011

    Hey, nice post! I just wondered if you shot that film on actual film or made it look like that through a digital program?

    • sylviangirl
      July 30, 2011

      I shot it using the Super 8 app on my iPod touch.

      • shohpie
        August 16, 2011

        O wow, I didn’t know they did an app for that! Awesome!

  34. Nevaeh
    August 10, 2011

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2011 by in Days Out and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

