Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Sweet Treat Sunday – Coconut Macaroons

To be honest, I had no idea what a macaroon was when I decided to try this recipe. I only knew that I love coconut and what looked to be some kind of coconut biscuit could only turn out to be a good thing. The Other Half confirmed this opinion and so it was decided I would give them a go.

The recipe I used is found in The Big Book of Cakes And Cookies by Hannah Miles. A book that makes my mouth water every time I flick through it. It also makes me happy that there was a picture of the macaroons alongside the recipe. I like this and don’t think recipe books do it often enough. If I ever had the opportunity to publish such a book I would insist on a photo to accompany every recipe. I found this photo especially helpful because as I previously mentioned, I didn’t know what to expect from a coconut macaroon so having something to visually compare my results against was a great help.

And to my surprise, they did come out looking something like the photo in the book! They don’t look as neat and perfectly round but hey, that’s why they call them ‘homemade’. The taste and texture were an absolute delight and The Other Half put himself out there and said they were his favourite thing that I have ever baked. Yes, “ever” baked. That’s quite a compliment!

Recipe

200g desiccated coconut
200ml condensed milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp almond extract
150g self-raising flour, sieved

  • Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a large baking tray with greaseproof paper
  • Throw all the ingredients into a bowl and mix well with a spoon (that was easy wasn’t it!). Your arm will get a good work out here and the mixture is very thick so really work hard to make sure everything is incorporated.
  • Place teaspoonful sized amounts onto the baking tray, leaving a small gap between each one and bake for about 12 minutes until they are lightly golden.
  • Remove from the oven and place on a wire rack to cool. (I made around 18 macaroons from this recipe)

The Other Half also suggested the idea that when the macaroons have cooled you could dip them in some melted chocolate and then pop in the fridge to set. I will most definitely be trying this next time!

One comment on “Sweet Treat Sunday – Coconut Macaroons

  1. itsybitsybrianna
    July 4, 2011

    This looks awesome!
    Please stop by and say hi!
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

