Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Sweet Treat Sunday – Banana Bread

After my recent conversion to banana flavoured goodies (see Banana Mini Muffins with Cinnamon Icing) The Other Half has been on at me to make some Banana Bread. In the past when he asked I was always reluctant, and he only ever got his fill when we visited my Mum. He is something of a fan of the Banana Bread she makes, so when I was finally up to the idea of trying it I knew he would ask me to use her recipe. So I did! Here is The Mum’s recipe for a wonderfully simple, gorgeously soft and mouth-watering Banana Bread.

Recipe

8 oz self-raising flour
4 oz unsalted butter
6 oz sugar (she didn’t specify which kind but I used light brown sugar)
2 eggs
3 ripe bananas, mashed

  • Preheat the oven to 180°C and grease a loaf tin, or line it with greaseproof paper
  • Rub the butter and flour together until they form a breadcrumb like texture
  • Add in the mashed bananas, the eggs, sugar and mix thoroughly
  • Pour into the loaf tin and bake for 40 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean

You can also add walnuts into the mix on this recipe but on this occasion I chose not to. A dash of cinnamon might work a treat too.

6 comments on “Sweet Treat Sunday – Banana Bread

  1. YUM! That looks like a perfectly moist banana bread! Love that!

    New to your blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

    • sylviangirl
      May 16, 2011

      Thank you! It really was superbly moist, and it stayed that way for the few days until it was all gone too.

  2. Gina Jones
    May 23, 2011

    😦 Guess my oven is rubbish. Exploding banana bread. Was delicious though:)

  3. This bread looks perfect! So pretty!

    • sylviangirl
      May 29, 2011

      Thanks! I was very pleased with it for a first attempt 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

