Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Easter Weekend Baking Bonanza

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about how this Easter was Through The Magic Door’s very first birthday!! And about the Easter Baking Bonanza I was planning to celebrate!

Well, here we are! It’s Easter weekend, I have baked myself silly and there are goodies aplenty!

L-R Creme Egg Cupcakes, Hot Cross Muffins, Classic Cupcakes, Brownies

The Hot Cross Muffins have been a surprising triumph. Originally when I was planning what to make I thought about regular Hot Cross Buns but after thinking about it for a couple of days I wanted to do something less predictable and so after a little bit of research I came across a recipe for these Hot Cross Muffins. All the tasty goodness of a Bun in a simple muffin recipe (no yeast!). Easy and delicious.

Hot Cross Muffins

The Creme Egg Cupcakes were an idea I had, obviously, when I was munching on a Creme Egg. A nice chocolate cupcake with the centre spread on top. And they really are as simple to make as that. Any chocolate cupcake recipe you can find, a few butchered Creme Eggs (I used one egg per cupcake) and hey presto! A seriously sweet treat.

Creme Egg Cupcakes

The Classic Cupcakes are the star of the show however. They are a vanilla sponge, with jam and buttercream (and a couple of chocolate decorations) but they are always a massive hit with family and friends and every time I do any baking for any special occasion I am asked to make these. And I do have a small secret for an extra lovely sponge – golden caster sugar!

Classic Cupcakes

Oh and don’t forget the brownies! Now that I have perfected the recipe I couldn’t resist!

Brownies

All recipes will be posted in the next couple of days…and maybe a couple more because I’m not done yet!

4 comments on “Easter Weekend Baking Bonanza

  1. Pingback: Easter Recipe – Hot Cross Muffins « Through The Magic Door

  2. Pingback: Another Easter Recipe – Creme Egg Cupcakes « Through The Magic Door

  3. Pingback: The Ultimate Classic Cupcake « Through The Magic Door

  4. toasty redhead
    May 14, 2011

    Thank you for a great post.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2011 by in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

