Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Uniform doodling

I am one of those compulsive doodle types. If there is a pen in my hand I will doodle – anywhere and on anything, paper margins, receipts, napkins. You leave it in front of me and it will more than likely be doodled on.

However, I think I differ slightly when compared to other doodlers I have come across. Most are nonsensical doodlers, those who simply just draw squiggly lines around things or draw moustaches on people in the newspaper. I am not such a doodler. My doodles are ordered, simple and neat. What often starts off as a small thing in the corner of a piece of paper, rapidly spreads and grows into something much more. I love that about my doodles. I can easily get lost in my own little doodle world and before I know it I’ve been sat there for an hour expanding my masterpiece.

Doodling has no pressure. It begins and ends when and where you want it to. And that’s why I love it.

A recent doodle I did whilst sat in a cafe.

10 comments on “Uniform doodling

  1. funkywellies
    July 23, 2010

    You call this a doodle? It’s lovely! You have many talents! :o)

  2. TonyVote
    July 24, 2010

    WOW! that is an amazing “doodle.” Are you some kind of artist or something?

    • sylviangirl
      July 24, 2010

      Thank you 🙂 And no, i’m not an artist – i was just bored!

      • TonyVote
        July 24, 2010

        well, it’s brilliant.

  3. jscheer88
    August 3, 2010

    Most famous “doodler” ever : Augustin Lesage (1876-1954), France.
    Google his name.

  4. arayans
    August 5, 2010

    impressive!

  5. Pingback: Picking Up Old Hobbies « Through The Magic Door

  6. Pingback: Doodler | Through The Magic Door

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 22, 2010 by in Drawing/Painting and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

