Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Sweet Treat Sundays – Bread And Butter Pudding

Straight from the oven

 

Let me introduce you to a new feature of this blog – Sweet Treat Sundays. A basic weekly post about the baked-beauties I have tried my luck at making that weekend. I always do most of my cake baking at the weekends as I cannot stand to be out doing anything else during the inevitable Saturday/Sunday furore. So I thought to myself, why not make a weekly blog item out of this. And here we are. 

For the first post in the series I decided it would be a nice idea to make something I have not attempted before – Bread And Butter Pudding. I love a good bread and butter pudding and so was a little apprehensive about trying it myself, not knowing how it would turn out. Luckily for me (and The Other Half, who tucked into his portion happily) it turned out ok.  Next time however I think I’ll add another layer of bread as it was a teeny-tiny bit soggy on the bottom; delicious all the same though. 

Delicious!

Recipe

25g unsalted butter
8 slices of bread
75g sultanas
3 eggs
500ml semi skimmed milk
25g golden caster sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence
1/4 tsp nutmet

  • Lightly grease a 1.5 litre oven proof dish
  • Butter the bread on both sides, cut each slice into triangles and layer in prepared dish, scattering sultanas between layers
  • Lightly beat the eggs in a jug with the milk, sugar and vanilla.
  • Pour over the bread and sprinkle nutmeg over the top. Gently press down with fingers.
  • Bake for 35-40 minutes at 180°C until top is golden brown
4 comments on “Sweet Treat Sundays – Bread And Butter Pudding

  1. peopleyou
    July 20, 2010

    good job!
    Welcome return visit!
    http://dayquote.wordpress.com
    can we exchange links?

  2. Slamdunk
    July 22, 2010

    That looks wonderful.

  3. TonyVote
    July 24, 2010

    oh my! that does look wonderful indeed. If only my fiance didn’t have Celiac Disease. We’re now forced to eat gluten-free in my household. So, as soon as we get a bread maker and start making some gluten-free bread, i am going to make this one!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2010 by in Baking, Sweet Treat Sunday and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

