Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Remember that vase I was painting?

The day has finally arrived! The glass painting project I posted about almost 8 weeks ago (!!) is finally complete and I can hardly believe it. There have been some delays in getting this finished, and I probably could have done it in under half the time but there was no need to rush. I enjoyed painting one little square each day and I like to think my glass painting technique improved over the period. Overall I am pleased with how the vase has turned out but I am not entirely happy with the blue squares, they are darker and less translucent that I was hoping for. It still looks pretty at night though with a lit candle in.

On the coffee table last night

 

Day time picture

I’m looking forward to getting stuck into some more glass painting soon, although I’m not sure exactly what to paint (on) this time.

8 comments on “Remember that vase I was painting?

  1. welshpurpletree
    July 13, 2010

    Pretty! I’ve got a little storage jar thing, I’ve been thinking of doing a similar sort of thing on. Get to the charity shops and see what you can pick up, I like glasses and anything slightly unusual shaped, at least if you’ve only paid 50p or whatever for it you don’t care if it doesn’t turn out as you hoped. Or start saving jars to practice on. Keep at it!

    • sylviangirl
      July 13, 2010

      Ive picked up a few great glassware things from charity shops – they’re perfect for practicing on like you said 🙂

  2. Fuzzy Logic
    July 13, 2010

    The first picture makes it look awesome-er than it already is!

  3. annket
    July 19, 2010

    Good Idea

  4. thoughtsappear
    July 19, 2010

    This looks really neat!

  5. nexttenminutes
    July 21, 2010

    Wow that’s beautiful! I wish I had more time to be craftsy like that.

  6. Pingback: Another Glimpse Of That Hand Painted Vase « Through The Magic Door

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 13, 2010 by in Glass Painting and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Archive

