Through The Magic Door

Distractions aplenty

Brownies

Yesterday afternoon I was meant to be out enjoy myself during the last day of the Exeter Summer Festival but after an hour or so of walking around and watching a little bit of the boat racing down at the Quay, I was a bit fed up of being swallowed up by the increasing crowds so escaped home early. This meant I had to find something to occupy myself with until the football was on, so I rummaged around in the kitchen cupboards and found I had everything I needed to make brownies!

This was the first time I’d tried my hand at making them and if I may say so myself, they were absolute brownie perfection! Lovely and chocolatey and gooey. I will definitely be making more in the future.

Delicious!

Recipe

2 eggs
200g caster sugar
50g unsalted butter, melted
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
50g plain flour
3 tbsps cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
(50g walnuts roughly chopped, if desired)

  • Whisk the eggs and sugar together until thick and creamy
  • Beat in the melted butter and vanilla essence
  • Sieve in the flour, cocoa powder, salt and fold into the mixture (add the walnuts here too if you are using them)
  • Pour into a well-greased square tin and bake at 190°C for 15 – 20 minutes, depending on the size of your tin (handy tip – when you can smell the lovely brownie smell emanating from your oven, they’re done!)
6 comments on “Brownies

  1. leidenese_boy
    July 11, 2010

    I can vouch for the fact that they were indeed lovely lovely brownies!!:) The fact that they’ve disappeared from the kitchen so so quickly (*looks sheepish*) shows how successful they turned out:) Really delicate texture, not at all stodgy & dense like shop-bought ones, but lovely & gooey too, a real success to get those two elements in one brownie. Baking perfection i say!!:) x

  2. Malcolmy
    July 21, 2010

    the gooey brownies are the best! the taste remains in your mouth even after you swallow them.

  3. indahsutra
    September 28, 2010

    Oooh these look yummy. Hope to try them soon especially since I’ve been craving for some yummy brownies lately! Love your blog & the many recipes!

    • sylviangirl
      September 28, 2010

      Thank you! I hope the brownies turn out perfectly for you if you do give them a go 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2010 by in Baking and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 160 other followers

Archive

